{Revised: 3/30/11}

No, I am not on a gluten-free diet, nor is anyone else in my family, but I do like to make recipes gluten-free when possible.

First of all, the grains typically used in place of wheat–the culprit for those with gluten sensitivity–are generally healthier and less refined than wheat.  Gluten-free baking mixes often include almond meal, which increases the protein and healthy fat content.  Secondly, although I don’t have a full-blown gluten allergy or intolerance, I have noticed that I sometimes end up with indigestion after eating a meal high in gluten.

Pamela’s Gluten-Free Baking & Pancake Mix is by far the best gluten-free baking mix I’ve tried.  The ingredients include brown rice flour, tapioca flour and almond meal.  This mix substitutes well in every Bisquick recipe I’ve tried, and I’ve also used it in place of regular flour on occasion.  (If you try this, be sure to account for the baking powder included in Pamela’s mix–you’ll need to cut back on the leavening in your original recipe.)

I adapted this recipe from the Banana Loaf Cake recipe on the back of the package:

Gluten-Free Banana Bread

  • 1/4 c. butter, melted
  • 1/2 c. sugar or honey (I used a combo of brown sugar and honey)
  • 2 eggs, beaten
  • 1 c. bananas, mashed
  • 1/2 c. applesauce
  • 1 3/4 c. Pamela’s Gluten-Free Mix
  • 1 tsp. vanilla extract
  • 1/4 tsp. salt
  • 1/2 tsp. ground cinnamon
  • 1/8 tsp. ground nutmeg

Preheat oven to 350.  Combine butter, sugar, eggs, bananas and applesauce; mix well.  Add remaining ingredients and mix well.  Pour into greased loaf pan; bake 45-55 minutes or until golden brown.

Ok, I’ll admit it…I’ve already had three slices this afternoon.  But they were thin slices.  And I shared one  of them with Calla. 🙂

Abby